top of page

Chakras 101

What are chakras? Keep reading to learn about the 7 main energy centers in the body and how you can find balance within them.

Crystals representing each of the chakras

The chakras are energy centers. In my opinion, this is one of many different ways that we as humans quantify and understand energy in the body. Scientific studies have been done on the chakras to "prove" their existence, but my Aquarius intuitive brain doesn't need proof. When you get in touch with the chakras, you will begin to understand and feel when each one is out of alignment. And that is what I'm here to teach you!

Chakras are a spinning vortex of energy that is not seen by the human eye but can be seen, felt, and sensed with intuition.This invisible healing energy is a vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive. -

When you're tuning in to your intuition, balancing your energy is VERY important. In fact, it's one of the most important things you can do. When you're out of balance, trying to listen in will feel like tuning to radio stations that are nothing but static.

Let's dive in to each individual chakra.

1. Muladhara - The Root Chakra

The root chakra sits at the base of the spine. This energy center is red, and it is the energy center that roots you into mother earth. This chakra is responsible for how grounded/ungrounded we feel. It represents all of the things that make us feel secure in our human existence.

When it's out of balance it will feel like you're unsafe and not taken care of. You may feel worried about finances or feel insecure in your relationships. It becomes very difficult to enjoy all life has to offer when your root chakra is out of alignment.

"Muladahara is the densest of all the chakras because the strength of our roots is the foundation from which all else in our lives can unfold. Solid roots provide us the support we need to not just survive, but thrive. Located at the base of the spine, they support us in a literal sense by holding up the rest of the physical body. However, they also support our ability to stay grounded as well as our ability to continue growing: balance and strength in the root chakra paves the way for a life that is stable and secure." - Ohana Yoga

The mantra is "LAM" and the statement associated with this energy center is "I am". You can use this mantra to reconnect you to Mother Earth and find grounding again. Or try my free Root Chakra Meditation practice to find balance.

2. Svadhishthana - The Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is the second chakra up, sitting in the pelvis/sacral area. T